Home >Home >



Players take on the role of player characters (PCs). Each PC belongs to a race and class. The group of PCs is a party, which may have non-player characters (NPCs) as retainers. PCs have six abilities: Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma. Abilities are listed as a score (a big number) and modifier (a small number). The score defines certain limits (such as a PC’s max commandable retainers) while the modifier adjusts rolls.

Hit points (HP), equipment, spells, and special techniques (such as class features) further define a PC. As PCs gain experience points (XP), they level up and gain benefits. PCs are most similar to 5e in levels 1 – 3, and to B/X for 4 – 9. Max PC level is 9.

Character Creation

Follow the steps below to make a PC:

  1. Pick race
  2. Roll abilities
  3. Pick class
  4. Define or pick equipment
  5. Decide on supply (SUP) carried
  6. Determine total load
  7. Pick spells if applicable
  8. Fill out your character sheet

PC Race

PCs are usually human, but may be another race. Each race has a different way to determine ability scores, and has ability requirements by class. Races have no other mechanical impact.

Make note of your race’s abilities and class restrictions. You must have a high enough ability score to take that race’s restricted classes (e.g. a halfling needs 13 or higher INT to qualify to become a mage). Classes without restrictions can be taken by any PC of that race.

Ability Scores Class Restrictions

Roll 3d6 in order: STR, DEX, CON, INT, WIS, CHA. Swap up to two.


Ability Scores Class Restrictions

CON and STR are 13. Roll 2d6+3 in DEX, INT, WIS, CHA order.

Thief: 13+ DEX

Mage: 13+ INT

Ability Scores Class Restrictions

DEX and INT are 13. Roll 2d6+3 in STR, CON, WIS, CHA order.

Warrior: 13+ STR

Zealot: 13+ WIS

Ability Scores Class Restrictions

WIS and CHA are 13. Roll 2d6+3 in STR, DEX, CON, INT order.

Warrior: 13+ STR

Mage: 13+ INT

Human Dwarf

Elf Halfling

PC Abilities

The abilities are Strength (STR), Dexterity (DEX), Constitution (CON), Intelligence (INT), Wisdom (WIS), and Charisma (CHA).

Scores & Modifiers

The ability score (the number rolled for) determines the appropriate ability modifier (which modifies checks). Note each modifier conversion as listed below:

Score Modifier
1-3 -4
4-5 -3
6-7 -2
8-9 -1
10-11 +0
12-13 +1
14-15 +2
16-17 +3
18+ +4

Below 3 is impossible to roll at start PCs die with an ability of 0 or below

PC Class

There are four classes: Warrior, Thief, Zealot, Mage. Your class determines your hardiness, skillset, equipment, and proficiencies. Classes are detailed on pages 8-11. Some class and race combinations require minimum ability scores.

Class & Race

Humans have no class restrictions, and may belong to any class. Elves, dwarves, and halflings can only be certain classes if ability requirements are met. If unlisted, the race can be that class without requirements.

  • Dwarf: Thief 13 DEX. Mage 13 INT
  • Elf: Zealot 13 WIS. Warrior 13 STR
  • Halfling: Mage 13 INT. Warrior 13 STR

Using Classes

Each PC picks a class at first level. A PC that is proficient due to class features gains their proficiency bonus to related checks. The GM says when a proficiency bonus applies. Each class has three archetypes. A PC picks one at level 3. At levels 3 and 7 the PC gains the benefits of that archetype, including its listed proficiency uses and one of the archetype features in the boxes below each. The PC can’t select the same feature twice.

Classes list what dice to roll for HP earned at each level up. A PC always earns at least 1 HP each time they level up. Some classes have spellcasting, which is discussed more on pages 28-31 (including spell lists by type).


PCs gain experience points (XP) for each gold piece of treasure safely captured. Simply discovering the gold or holding it for a while doesn’t earn XP. Optionally, the GM can grant XP for things other than gold that are valuable – bounties, rare discoveries, useful resources, esoteric knowledge, etc.


PCs level up when they earn enough XP. A PC gains new benefits each time they level up, per their class. PCs are unable to level up in more than one class. Max PC level is 9.

In general, a PC earns more HP, can improve their stats, and gain new class features with each level up. Refer to your class rules for specifics (such as dice rolled for HP, etc.).

Level XP Required
2 2,500
3 5,000
4 10,000
5 20,000
6 30,000
7 50,000
8 75,000
9 100,000
8 Warrior